Why Believe?

January 2, 2011

I’ve closed it. The Bible I mean. Yes, I neglected Revelation for my own reasons but I have to ask, why do you believe? Is it the comfort of immortality? Is it to make yourself a better person? Fear?

I’m definitely glad I read the Bible but I guess I’m fine with just being. I really don’t think about what will happen when I die. I think about what I’m doing now, who I’m affecting and the impact I’m having on others. That’s it.

I’m going to write a few entries regarding general themes I didn’t understand, questioned, etc., but I also plan on going to church. God save us all. I tried to maintain an open mind reading the Bible, but church will be a challenge. Generally I fear the “meet your neighbor” part. I’m not big on touching people I don’t know.

Many of you have given me church visitation ideas, but if you have more, please let me know. I’m guessing this new quest will start in mid-January but that’s just a guess.

22 Responses to “Why Believe?”

  1. Adam Hanauer said

    Not sure. I find faith in the God of the bible to certainly “make the most sense” but that is not just it. Hard to explain I guess, this thing called faith. Even it seems to come from God, or some place other than ourselves. The most important reason I believe would have to be I find the truths in the bible to be true in my own life. I have experienced it for myself. I would venture to say you have to.

    Now to turn you question back on you. Why do you believe? You do believe. We all do. You may not believe the story of Jesus but you do believe in a story and you live your life by it. How didnyu come to believe your story? You see, everyone has faith in something – even the most enlightened among us.

    Enjoyed your writing. Thanks!

  2. BJ said

    “I think about what I’m doing now, who I’m affecting and the impact I’m having on others. That’s it.”

    That is precisely why I am a Christian. Now that you’ve read the Bible you know that Jesus next to never talked about what happens when we die. He wasn’t concerned about what happens when we die. Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection was all about what life means NOW, for us as humans and as communities. Honestly, I used to think Christianity was all about going to heaven, but frankly, the older I got and the more serious I took my faith, the less that had any meaning for me. It just seemed a useless carrot on a stick, just like the “great job” that’s out there or that “promotion” just around the bend. That’s not what Christianity is, although I’ll be the first to admit that many people treat it that way. I’m a Christian because of what Jesus says about what I’m doing now, because of what he says about who I’m affecting and what impact I’m having.

    Ivy, you may be an agnostic, but I think you just gave the best reason for having “faith.” Keep up the searching. You’ve been an encouragement to me, and good luck with church. Be gentle on us and remember that not all of us are searching for the opiate of the masses.

  3. humanitarikim said

    There are so many reasons why I cannot and will not believe in any diety. This all-loving, all-knowing God that is spoken of in the Bible is also a cruel, mean, bigoted person. There may have been a man named Jesus who walked the Earth, but I don’t believe he is our savior, was born to die for our not-yet-committed sins, or that he will come again.

    There are so many inaccuracies in the Bible itself that cause many to stop believing. Beyond that, church leaders (the ones supposedly “closet to God”) are often times among the most sinful, committing adultery, crimes again youth, fraud, and taking money from faithful followers to live prosperous lives and erect expensive, ornate structures while the poor starve and sleep under bridges.

    I say to the believers, where is your proof of God’s existence? They have none, therefore the discussion is over.

    Good luck in your own search for truth. I walked this path myself. I don’t think I could sit through a church service and watch all of the delusion and lack of honesty today without shouting out to them asking why they don’t value science and knowledge more.

    There is a shift in our nation and across the world to a more secular way of life. There is a reason for this. Some are finally taking the initiative to stop believing merely because a trusted human told them to do so and looking for the evidence to back it all up, and in this they realize that they come up empty handed.

    • thumpme said

      I agree with you on the whole God front. He is a beast. I don’t know about Jesus. I suppose there’s historical record, etc. but I don’t want to get into all of that because for me, when it comes down to it, I just don’t believe.

      As for the church leaders, correct. Not always, but much more often than needed. I attribute a lot of that to power. As you said, there’s a major shift happening in this country (religiously, politically, socially) and, in my opinion, much of that is a result of the corruptive nature of power. It drives me nuts and makes me want to stick my head in the sand but as a journalist and a human who thrives for and hopes for responsibility and change, I keep paying attention. It causes me great angst.

      I’m curious about your path though. I wouldn’t say I’m really on a path or a quest, I was just curious. Now I’ve shifted to philosophy — re-reading stuff I flew through in college. I’m after ideas. I guess that’s it. Ideas and knowledge both of which are fueled by curiosity.

      Once I went to a church because I was writing a story about gay Bishops and I felt the exact same way you did. It was just insane.

      • humanitarikim said

        I feel that same way about some of the things I see or hear about… I hope for so much change and progression that sometimes I want to scream or run away. It angers me, saddens me, and drives me nuts sometimes. When it all gets to be too much, I just turn off the television and computer and distance myself from it all for a while.

        I was never really religious. My parents didn’t cart me to church weekly or force me to pray at night. I feel fortunate that even though they believe in a higher power, I was not indoctrinated as a child to believe and was allowed to find my own way through reason. I attended church with friends off and on growing up… it was a purely social event for me. I watched the emotion that some expressed over it and I never got it.

        Later as an adult, I began to research, read the bible and talk to others about their beliefs and experiences. I just can’t buy into it. I studied Buddhism for a while, because I appreciated their peaceful, loving nature… but aside from that, I couldn’t wrap my head around the reincarnation of the Dalai Lama and such. When I finally began to research atheism, I knew I had finally found it. Science is trustworthy, reproducible and so much more intriguing for me. This makes sense.

        Yesterday, I attended a funeral at a neighborhood church for a family member of my boyfriend. At some points, during the sermon portion of the ceremony, I looked around to watch others who were so intently soaking up the scriptures and passages, complete with “amens” at the end. Throughout all the promises of “this is not an end, you will meet again” I kept thinking how sad it was that all of those people actually believe this. We must live in the here and now, for there is no afterlife.

      • thumpme said

        I don’t know what I am, but Buddhism is as close as it gets for me.

    • marg said

      humanitarikim : What are the inaccuracies in the Bible that you speak of?

      I disagree that believers do not have proof of God’s existence. But since you have set your mind on not believing, I don’t think you’d accept anyone’s proof.

      Your statement about church leaders is not fair. There are thousands of church leaders in the world. We hear about one or two a year who have fallen. We can’t fault all of them for the straying of the few. Also, not all church leaders are Christ-followers/believers. So they can’t all be lumped together.

      As for not helping in communities, again, that is an unfair statement. I just heard on the radio today of a church reaching out to their community big time…renovating a homeless shelter. I wish I could remember the name of the church. Also, the church I attend just gave 5,000 dollars to our city’s homeless shelter and we are constantly volunteering there as well as at Crisis pregnancy centers and trips to Haiti and Kenya. My point is, there are many churches out there doing what God instructs them to do. So again, that was an unfair statement. There are genuine believers out there. And there is a difference between genuine believers and name-only believers.

      Science is trustworthy if it is not “junk science”. True, accurate science supports the Bible in many ways. You can learn how at the Creation Research Center if you are interested.

      You say “there is no afterlife”. What do you base that belief on? What if you are wrong?

      My heart goes out to you.
      ~marg~

      • humanitarikim said

        Hi Marg. This could get long, but you asked for a lot of info.

        First, proof must be provided by anyone on the affirming side of a discussion. This is the only logical way to get results.

        The Bible portrays the Earth as being flat by speaking of the four corners, four pillars on which it rests, it being fixed and immovable, and being able to see all of the land from the highest mountain top which is not possible on a round object. Many people believed this fallacy (despite a scientist named Eratosthenes, who calculated the Earth’s radius fairly accurately in 1700 BC) for hundreds of years until Magellan actually circumnavigated the world via sailboat proving that it was indeed a sphere in the early 1500s.

        Copernicus and Galileo were responsible in the 1600s for proving that the earth was not the center of the universe (copernicanism)as the Bible suggests and that the earth rotates around the sun while the moon rotates around the earth (heliocentricism). For this, Galileo was condemned by the Catholic church in 1616 because heliocentricism was “false and contrary to Scripture” and spent the rest of his life under house arrest.

        Noah was ordered to build an ark to carry two of each creature to safety during the great flood. There are 20 million known species of animals. This means that Noah must of had 40 million animals on his boat. Not only must that of been an incredibly large boat, it’s not feasible for him to provide the unique care of required for each and keep the lot of them safe. Polar bears, scorpions, dolphins, and monkeys do not reside in the same parts of the world. And how did he keep the lions from eating the penguins?

        The creation museum you speak of also suggests that dinosaurs were included on the ark, when paleontologists can prove that dinosaurs lived over 65 million years ago until their extinction at the end of the Cretaceous period.

        There is more, but, in the interest of time and space, I will move on…

        It’s true that some churches do good deeds. In fact I would dare to suggest that every church does some good, but too many of them are involved in “sinful” behavior or profiteering for their own benefit to be respectable. Here is a list of transgressions in the last week alone:

        Texas: Pastor Earl Post arrested for stalking a teenage girl.
        New York: Rabbi Victor Koltun pleads not guilty to ordering the murders of two men. Koltun was previously sentenced to five years for mail fraud.
        Connecticut: Pastor David Pomales and his children arrested in church brawl.
        Bangladesh: Imam Afsar Ali arrested in connection with the death of a woman who was publicly caned for adultery.
        Kansas: Pastor Mark Holick arrested for attempting to force gospel tracts upon Muslims exiting a mosque.
        Italy: Court upholds the seizure of $30M in Vatican assets used to launder money for the mafia. The Vatican claims it’s all a “misunderstanding.”
        Texas: Pastor Sandra McGriff arrested for burglary after cops apprehended her stealing two fur coats from the home of a church member. Police also found three purses and a laptop in McGriff’s Jaguar.
        California: Father Joseph McCabe denied bail pending extradition to Ireland on numerous counts of child molestation.
        Texas: Pastor Ivory McDaniels charged with multiple counts of sexual assaults on female minors.
        Ireland: Report shows Dublin Archdiocese transferred Father Tony Walsh to cover up numerous sexual assaults on boys and girls. The church never reported Walsh to the police.
        Iowa: Pastor Timothy Parker sentenced to 20 years in prison for sexual assault on a child.
        Bolivia: Father Jose Ochua sentenced to 22 years in prison for sexually abusing at least 19 children in an orphanage.

        I can provide a list such as this for every week of the year. That is far more than one or two per year as you suggested.

        I believe there is no afterlife based off of my disbelief in a deity. There is not really any other need to explain that further. We die, we are absorbed into the earth, end of story. I have confidence that I am not wrong, and I am not going to partake in Pascal’s Wager “just in case”.

        Regards,
        Kim

      • thumpme said

        Really enjoying this whole conversation.

      • marg said

        Hi Kim,

        As I said in my last post, I consulted someone much wiser than I. You are in a league above me when it comes to debate. That being the case, I don’t plan on debating things with you further. The person I referred you to is your caliber and can do a much better job than I. Unfortunately, I have the kind of brain that files away conclusions without filing away the evidence along with it. You obviously have the kind of brain, like my friend, that files away both.

        I failed to comment on your church and church leader post purely due to forgetfulness. I thought of it later and was going to post again but decided against it since my original post was so long. I was actually concerned that Ivy might not like us going on and on with things.

        But I noticed today that she posted that she is really enjoying this whole conversation so that puts my mind at ease.

        So…regarding the churches and church post. I wrote in my other post: not all church leaders are Christ-followers/believers. So they can’t all be lumped together.

        When reading through your long list, it seemed to me that you totally disregarded my statement. Granted, only God can tell the condition of someone’s heart, so I won’t attempt to finger those who I “think” might not be genuine believers. But I don’t think your list is by any means a fair reflection on true believers in Jesus Christ. Also, I don’t believe any list could be compiled that anyone could guarantee was filled with 100% true Christ-followers.

        I think the problem we are running into in this particular discussion is that I am defending true Christ-followers and you are lumping all churches, religions and ministers into one category.

        I don’t know where you get your lists from, but that is another point that we are coming from different angles on. I was referring to the instances that hit national radio/TV and involve the prominent ministers in our country. That’s where my “one or two a year” came from. Your list includes ministers from around the world.

        So no, I do not concede on that topic.

        But I also don’t believe that any conclusions about it can be support for or against believing in God. My friend was absolutely right when he said, “I would not recommend that you put your confidence in the creation museum or in any other human institution. The ‘total depravity of man’ doctrine must be taken seriously. But I would recommend that you put your confidence in the Bible, and your faith in the God of the Bible. They actually have a remarkable track record, both historically and in many lives today.”

        Sincerely,
        ~marg~

    • marg said

      Hi Humanitarikim,

      I requested the help of someone much wiser than I to speak to your arguments. Here is what he wrote:
      Paragraph 1:
       
      The argument is: “The Bible teaches that the world is flat.  The world has been proven to be a sphere.  Therefore the Bible is false.  And therefore belief in the God of the Bible is without logical foundation.”
       
      Response: I do not accept the starting premise.  Apparently few individuals who actually read the Bible and try to live by it accept this premise because none of my Christian friends are telling me that this is what the Bible teaches, and I have never heard any preacher say that this is what the Bible teaches, even though many of these people are quite keen to accept what the Bible teaches in all areas.  So the Bible must not be saying this very forcefully, if at all.  Which is quite remarkable, if you think about it.  For the Bible originated a long time ago, when the flat Earth does, quite understandably, seem to have been a respectable popular notion.  That is, the earth certainly seems flat and not round like a ball to ordinary experience.  And yet, as I have said, the Bible really doesn’t seem to require such an idea.  But perhaps I have overlooked something.  Please refine your argument.  Please point to chapter and verse and explain why what is being said there, when considered in its proper context (including its proper literary genre) requires the reader to accept that it is teaching that the world is flat.
       
      Paragraph 2:
       
      There seem to be two arguments here. 1: “The Bible teaches that Earth is the center of the universe.  We now know that Earth orbits the sun.  Therefore the Bible is false.  And therefore belief in the God of the Bible is without logical foundation.”  2: “Galileo was persecuted by the church for spreading heresy.  But Galileo was right and the church wrong.  Therefore the fundamental character of the church (and all religion?) is seen to be evil.”
       
      Response: (#2 first) If you will study the history of this conflict, you will find that Galileo was first and foremost persecuted by his (jealous, envious) scientific peers, not by the church.  Does this then mean that the fundamental character of science is evil?  Or does it possibly mean that people, whether inside or outside the church, are fundamentally evil?  Note that traditional theology lends its ascent to the second possibility.  They call it “the total depravity of man”.  They say the Bible teaches this, and I think their case is pretty solid on this one.  Real life experience tends also to bear it out rather strongly.
      (Now #1) I do not accept either the first or the second premise in this argument.  The first premise suffers in the same way as your first argument, and my response to it is the same.  The second premise is not up-to-date with the latest science.  Since the time of Einstein it has been held by modern science that there is no preferred reference frame in the universe.  This means that it is, in fact, as proper to say that Earth orbits the sun as it is to say that the sun orbits the earth, as far as human observation goes.  It is conceptually simpler, and the corresponding mathematical equations are easier to set up and solve using the sun as center, but this does not make it right and other viewpoints wrong.  The scientifically preferred viewpoint, as far as mathematical simplicity goes, is to treat the center of mass of the system as center.  In this reference frame, the sun is seen to be orbiting the center of mass of the solar system.  A correct second premise would be, “Modern science now asserts that there is no way for any human observer to tell what is the center of the universe; all reference frames are equally valid”.  If this second premise is true, and if it should turn out that the Bible does teach that the Earth is the center (which seems doubtful to me, but I am willing for you to show me otherwise), then the Bible’s viewpoint would have to be regarded as equally valid, as far as modern science is concerned, wouldn’t it?  And in that case, the conclusion that the Bible is false in this matter would not be valid, right?
       
      Paragraph 3: 
       
      The argument is: “The Bible teaches that God commanded Noah to take two of each species of animal with him into the ark, and that Noah did as he was told.  There are 20 million species.  The ark was not big enough to house 40 million animals, and its staff was not large enough to care for 40 million animals.  Therefore the Bible is false.  And therefore belief in the God of the Bible is without logical foundation.” 
       
      Response:  I do not accept the first premise (among other things).  My Bible nowhere mentions the word “species” in connection with Noah.  My Bible talks about “kinds” of animals.  If it is true that there are 20 million species of animals, then your argument appears only, at best, to clarify that the scientific term “species” does not mean the same thing as the biblical term “kind”.
       
      Paragraph 4:
       
      The argument is: “The creation museum says dinosaurs were on the ark.  The data of science show unambiguously that dinosaurs became extinct millions of years before the time of Noah.  Therefore the creation museum is spreading a falsehood.  And therefore the creation museum should not be regarded as a reliable source from which to argue about Bible/science issues.”
       
      Response: I accept this argument.  The Bible does not mention dinosaurs in connection with the ark or anywhere else.  Some have tried to read dinosaurs into the Bible, but I know of no Bible translation that anywhere admits such a reading at any point.  Thus, those who do this dogmatically and without caveat appear to be guilty of adding to the words of the Bible their own speculations, confounding fallible human inference with infallible, explicit Bible teaching. The simplest explanation of dinosaurs that I know of, in harmony with both the Bible and science, is that they are part of the fallen creation’s virtual history.  In this understanding there is no need to try to read them into the Bible or onto the ark.  I would not recommend that you put your confidence in the creation museum or in any other human institution.  The “total depravity of man” doctrine must be taken seriously.  But I would recommend that you put your confidence in the Bible, and your faith in the God of the Bible.  They actually have a remarkable track record, both historically and in many lives today.

      ***********************
      If you would like to debate issues with him further, you can do so here: http://www.biblicalchronologist.org

      Thank you for taking the time to answer so many of my questions. I really appreciate the time it took you to do so.

      ~marg~

      • humanitarikim said

        In response to paragraphs 1 and 2 and to make it easier on everyone, I will supply some links that include biblical context and discusses the (1.) flat earth theory and (2.)geocentricity:

        (1.) http://www.theflatearthsociety.org/library/the_bibles_flat_earth_solid_sky_dome_universe.pdf

        (2.)
        http://www.nwcreation.net/geocentricity.html

        Paragraph 3: If Noah only took “types” of animals in the broadest sense of the term, as you suggest, then you have just affirmed your stance on evolution.

        I noticed that in your rebuttal, with or without the aid of your friend, that you failed to mention the indiscretions of the churches and church leaders that I previously touched on. Does this mean you concede on this topic?

        I, too, appreciate the time involved in replying. I always appreciate a good discussion.

        Regards,
        Kim

  4. Linda said

    I too first believed for the hope of heaven. Now, I believe because I cannot imagine my life without the love of my savior. He is all the world to me. All love comes from God through Jesus his son and without that, we would all be totally evil. I know the Bible is true for millions of reasons. One example, the people named in the early chapters of Genesis lived extremely long lives. If you look up a time line, you will see that their lives overlapped so that Moses had eye witness testimony for writing the book. Try reading Fox’s Book of Martyrs and learn what became of those who walked with Jesus when he was on earth. They gave their lives for what they had witnessed. Please keep us posted about church! And remember, church is like a hospital for the sick and wounded.

  5. Ty said

    A few of my unorganized thoughts (sorry, I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately [1Pet 3:15]):
    While it certainly can be a reason to believe, Heaven isn’t the only reason to follow God; Why would someone want to be a Christian other than heaven? Tough question. And, even today, don’t we visualize heaven as a relatively boring place on average? Eg. As an angel on a cloud with a harp…Sounds boring to me. “Heaven is a place of unending creativity in ways to glorify and worship God.” – Ken Boa roughly paraphrased. The best description of heaven I’ve read is C.S. Lewis at the end of Chronicles of Narnia in The Last Battle. Just imagine yourself as one of those kids. That description makes me excited for heaven. The fruits of the Spirit are reasons to believe. You can’t touch a single one of those (love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, and self-control, remember [Gal 5:22]?). Those are some of the good reasons. There are some reasons not to believe, too. A few of the tough ones are taking up your cross daily, dying to yourself (Luke 9:23), having humility in spite of “achievement” or status, forsaking family in comparison to the love of Jesus (Mat. 10:37), loving people who are seemingly impossible to love (Luke 6:27). All tough teachings of Jesus. Paul speaks of joy in Philippians in spite of being chained to a guard 24/7, in spite of being up for a potential death penalty. His attitude was the same as that of Christ Jesus’s. He concluded that “to live is Christ, to die is gain.” Kind of nutty from a real world perspective…But, Paul saw reasons to follow in spite of earthly/temporal hardships. And those reasons do not boil down to “because I’ll get to heaven.”

    If you’re looking for purely intellectual reasons, it might be hard to find just one. One I find myself leaning on is the sheer volume of prophecies from the Old Testament that Jesus fulfilled. But, I would also point you back to John. Read it with the word “believe” in mind. Jesus over and over again points out how tough it is to believe, even for the “teacher of Israel.” He exalts those who believe based on nothing more than than His word. He notes how hard it is for those of intellectual stature to admit He is Messiah. And a lot of that is because if he actually is Messiah, that my dear, is a what they call a game-changer, no?

    TTFN

  6. marg said

    I believe for a variety of reasons but none of them have to do with comfort of immortality, to make myself a better person or fear.

    I believe first and foremost because I believe the Bible is true. There are numerous facts proving the validity and accuracy of the Bible. It has stood the test of time. An easy way to research these facts is to read some of what Lee Strobel wrote. He was an atheist and took it upon himself to investigate Jesus. After two years of research, he became a Christian based on the evidence he found. Here is his website: http://www.leestrobel.com/
    (he was also a journalist for many years)

    Other reasons I believe:

    -because I have experienced God personally. He has done for me what He only could have done.
    -I can’t believe nature started from nothing. Everything shows design and with design, it stands to reason that there was a designer. Think of the intricacies just in our bodies…how everything works together…our DNA. How could precision like that, just happen? If you shook the parts of a watch in a paper sack enough times, would a working watch eventually come out? What would be the odds?
    -because I know myself. I know my tendencies to be selfish or self-centered. So when the Bible says that “All have sinned and fallen short of the glory of God.” Romans 3:23. I know I am included in that “all” and I “fall short” of making it to heaven on my own.

    Yes, there is comfort, as a Christian, in immortality because we will be spending eternity with God, in heaven. But all humans are immortal. The question is, are they going to spend the remainder of their life, past this life on earth, with God or without Him. Based on the Bible being true, that’s currently our choice. Once our flesh dies, it will be too late to decide. And based on what the Bible says, I certainly do not want to spend eternity away from God. But that is not “why” I believe.

    And yes, following Christ and living as He tells us to, does make me a better person. Because of Him, I hold my tongue when I feel like cutting someone to pieces with it. Because of Him, I do the responsible thing when I feel like being irresponsible. Because of Him, I overcome my selfish and self-centered tendencies more than I would if left to myself…

    I suppose, in the beginning, I would have said I accepted Christ as my Savior because I “feared” going to hell. But my relationship with God now has nothing to do with fear of hell but has everything to do with love of Him.

    I hope you will persevere, if need be, through the list of churches that have been recommended to you. The differences from church to church will be many. I am praying that God will lead you to the ones that preach the truth and that in those you will find one that you will be able to happily attend.

    ~marg~

  7. Noah said

    My answer is simple: I believe that Jesus really did resurrect from the dead, as he said he would. And this validates everything else he did and said about himself and our salvation.

    1 Cor. 15:17-19
    17 And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile; you are still in your sins. 18 Then those also who have fallen asleep in Christ are lost. 19 If only for this life we have hope in Christ, we are of all people most to be pitied.

    Basically Paul is saying if Christ didn’t raise from the dead, and if our hope is only for this life, we as Christians are the biggest morons out there and should be doing a lot better things with our time.

  8. Noah said

    I should add: Jesus’ resurrection is the rock of my faith. Whenever I have doubts about other aspects of Christianity or the Bible, I always go back to the resurrection, and the salvation by grace it brings.

    Unfortunately Christianity’s faith has been set up like a house of cards. If you have 1 or 2 doubts, or 10 or 20 for that matter, and you remove those cards from the house, the entire house falls = no faith in Christ as Lord and Savior. Christ’s resurrection reminds me that He is not a house of cards, but a rock. We are always going to have doubts and questions, the Bible even guarantees this (Deuteronomy 29:29; 1 Cor. 13:12) but these doubts do not disqualify us from being able to put our hope and faith in Christ’s resurrection. There is 1 thing we must believe to be saved, not 1000’s, and we need to remember that.

  9. Mark_S. said

    I used to consider myself an agnostic as well until I experienced things that were “greater than myself” and I was able to substitute a “higher power” to get over my reservations about G-O-D. There have been times in life that a spiritual being or awareness has graced me and I feel a presence that is much more meaningful than any individual soul. I read the book “The Shack” and was greatly moved by it and it helped me understand a few things about tragedy in life. I find it interesting that you skipped Revelations because those have been motivator(s) for me to get off my (__|__) and try to be a better person and human being on a daily basis. If the prophecy of many cultures comes true in December, 2012 by the hand of humans, God or Mother Earth herself, I want to be square with the lord and the earth so salvation may come true. If not, I hope I die with my fellow brothers in eternal peace and resurrection. Amen….

    • thumpme said

      I get that. The 2012 thing. In fact, when and if that happens, I’m going to throw up a major prayer and request for forgiveness! And, if Jesus is as forgiving as the Bible says he is, I should be sitting pretty.

      I get the greater-than-myself thing but I deal with it differently. I’m about to blog about it…

      By the way, I love your other comment (that’s all true) but I’ll keep that for private consumption!

  10. annkroeker said

    I only just now discovered you through TheHighCalling.org, where your blog’s feed appeared in its RSS reader. In scanning some of these most recent posts, it appears I’ve missed a fascinating year-long Bible-reading journey chronicled by an open-minded reader-writer-thinker.

    Sorry to arrive late to the discussion, but I’ll try to start following along now. The comments to this post alone have drawn me in. I look forward to reading more.

    • thumpme said

      Thanks! I’m going to keep posting. I’m going to start checking out churches on Sunday and writing about it Monday. Wednesday posts are reserved for dive bars. I have a lot of those in the can. The similarities between the two (I’m assuming) will be great.

Leave a Reply

