Children are a Gift (from the Lord)

September 15, 2010

I don’t have children and am rather uncomfortable around anything incapable of supporting its own head, but I love kids between the ages of “I don’t understand norms” and “Anything’s possible.”

Kids are scarce in my little world, which is why my triple threat kid weekend was a bit of an anomaly. I went on a small trip to Colorado. While there, I visited my sister’s third grade class. Every time I go, my sister ends up translating kid speak. Linguistically I speak the same language as the kids, but I operate from a series of social templates and they do not, which is why I have a hard time understanding their dialogue. Here’s a snippet of our most recent q and a.

Student 1: “When is your birthday?”

Me: “August first. So, I just had a birthday.”

Student 2: “Have you ever been stung by a bee?”

Me: “Yes. I actually got stung by a bee a few weeks ago.”

Student 3: “I got stung by a bee eight times on my face.”

Me: “Ow.” (Awkward)

Student 4: “When is your next birthday?”

I asked student 4 to repeat the question. Then I asked him to repeat it again. And then my sister stepped in.

“Her next birthday is next year. A long time from now.”

“Oh.” The rest of the class nodded. To them the question was entirely reasonable and the answer satisfactory, but it took me a minute to expunge expected inquiries about my job, my family, my hobbies, my background, and open to unexpected, interesting subjects such as airplanes.

“Are the seats on the airplane comfortable?”

“Can you eat on the plane?”

“What kind of flowers grow in Michigan?”

“Have you ever ridden a horse?”

“Do you want to hear us sing the continent song?”

I consider myself to be fairly creative and open to new ideas, but these kids made me think. Most adults ignore imaginative freedoms until they disappears. Those that don’t spend a lifetime battling classification. This is the 21st Century gridlock: Imagination vs. Stagnation.

Right now innovators, early adaptors and indefinables are pushing corporations, industries, bureaucracy, churches, government and municipalities to view the world while dangling upside down on monkey bars. In America, an upside question mark doesn’t mean anything, so it could mean everything. We could ask why someone would want graffiti on an abandon building; poop digesters in a park; or candles that automatically turn off or we could see what they do.

I don’t agree with a lot of the psalms, but I happen to love this piece. Kids are the greatest gift. Maybe if they were tall enough to see over a boardroom table, we would listen to them.

Stopping Point: Proverbs 1-14

2 Responses to “Children are a Gift (from the Lord)”

  1. […] a huge deal. I’m an adult. I could have said something, punched her, whatever. But, what about little kids? If they’re molested in any sense and their parents ask them to live according to the Bible, how […]

  2. […] but as I’ve said before, I have this smelling thing. Good or bad, it’s an unappreciated sense. We’re taught not to stare at people particularly people who are down on their luck, those we’re taught to ignore. But […]

Leave a Reply

