Tenacious (D) euteronomy

June 30, 2010

Last time I posted I bailed on my commitment to finish Numbers in one reading. I finished Numbers today and moved onto Deuteronomy, which practically summarizes Numbers! It would have been awesome if someone told me that. Deuteronomy is so much more concise.

I suppose that’s what I get for cheating, which brings me to tenacity. Do I have enough to survive the next three weeks without any substances? I think so, but we’ll see. My reward for making it is a trip to Colorado. If I fail, I’ll still go to Colorado, completely annihilating cause-effect as motivation. Cause-effect aside, this ban on substances is self-inflicted and if I don’t have enough tenacity to follow through on my own impositions, it’s going to be ride. For the record, I view “substance” and “fun” as synonyms so feel free to sympathize.

Deuteronomy clarified a lot of references I’ve never understood. I’ll get to that later. Since people pick and choose the pieces of the Bible they’d like to follow, I choose the parenthesis, which makes an epic cameo in this section.

Example:

“… (A mighty race of giants called the Emim used to live in Ar. They were as tall as the Anakim, another race of giants. Like the Anakim they were also known as Rephaim; but he Moabites called them Emim. The Horites used to live in Edom, but the descendents of Esau chased them out, destroyed their nation, and settled there themselves, just as the Israelites later chased their enemies out of the land that the Lord gave them.)”

So this substance thing is a way to (hopefully) rid myself of a really long stint of insomnia. So far the worst part is caffeine withdrawal, which really sucks. (According to the 20 websites I visited during my ‘caffeine withdrawal symptoms’ search, I’m experiencing all side effects including headache, sleep deprivation, irritability, fatigue and difficulty concentrating. In other good news, a 2004 CNN report, “A new study that analyzes some 170 years’ worth of research concludes that caffeine withdrawal is very real — producing enough physical symptoms and a disruption in daily life to classify it as a psychiatric disorder. Researchers are suggesting that caffeine withdrawal should be included in the next edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), considered the bible of mental disorders.” As if I need another.)

 (On a positive note, there was a 12-hour period in May where I was hell bent on obtaining a heroin addiction and then writing about the withdrawal. This experience has taught me that no, I don’t want to do that.)

It’s very difficult to read 30-40 pages of the Bible twice a week especially when lack of concentration, sleep deprivation and irritability are thrown into the mix however, I’m still plowing through and as usual, I always end up enjoying the reading.

For a non-believer, Deuteronomy is very informative. This is moronic, but I’d never heard of the “great commandment,” understood the whole chosen people bit, really known why Jewish people stay away from the pig (I’ve feigned this information for years), why some believers want women to wear skirts and men pants, the consequences of having sex before marriage (still digesting this one) and the whole virginal blood on the sheets thing (sick).

It’s very fitting that my quest for purity coincides with my goal to read the Bible by Christmas. I’ll just go a day at a time, a lesson I believe is taught in the Bible and substance abuse groups. Tenacity.

Stopping Point: Deuteronomy, Section 28 (I never committed to reading this in one sitting. Conscious cleared.)

2 Responses to “Tenacious (D) euteronomy”

  1. […] night I tried praying — to Jesus, not God — and instead of peace, I had a horrific nightmare, woke up yelling, […]

  2. […] 24, 2010 We’re headed to Chicago for Thanksgiving (feel free to rob my house, we’re insured) so I’m not posting anything substantial […]

Leave a Reply

